RSS

I think I have finally chosen my perfect Apple Crumble Recipe

18 Aug

I tend to drift through apple crumble recipes and try a new one each time.  They’re usually always pretty good and hard to tell apart, but this time I think I have found my winner.  Friday was the last day of a friend at work and his boss requested that I make apple crumble.  I had been lucky enough to have been given a bag of apples from a colleague’s orchard and so I was more than happy to oblige.  After a frantic search through my Cookbook (I store my recipes in a OneNote Notebook), I realised that I must have stored it somewhere else.  A check of my emails showed that I’d archived the email with the recipe on it so I didn’t have access to it that way either.  This was extremely fortuitous in that it allowed me to find a new recipe, which I think I like even better.  A quick Google search netted me this recipe on the Allrecipes.com.au website.  Luckily I had all the necessary ingredients and I rolled up my sleeves and got to work, making only a few amendments.

Apple Mixture

  • 7 large green apples
  • 1/4 cup caster sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  1. Peel and core apples and cut into roughly 1-2cm cubes.
  2. Place the apples in a large saucepan, cover with water and simmer with the lid on for 5 minutes, until the apples are just tender but not too soft.
  3. Drain apples well and place in large bowl
  4. Combine the caster sugar, nutmeg and cinnamon and then toss through the apples.

Crumble Topping

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar, packed
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup coconut
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 100 grams butter, melted
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla essence
  1. Combine the flour, brown sugar, rolled oats, coconut, cinnamon and nutmeg in a large bowl until evenly mixed through.
  2. Add the vanilla essence to the melted butter
  3. Add the butter mixture to the dry ingredients and mix well using a fork. Make sure that all the ingredients are moist and the topping has a crumbly texture

The Completed Crumble

  1. Place the apple mixture in a casserole dish, smoothing the surface so that it is even.
  2. Spread the crumble mixture over the top of the apples, again making sure the surface is even.
  3. Bake the crumble for 30-40 minutes at 180C until the topping is slightly browned

I’m a fan of serving with ice cream, but whipped cream or custard works just as well.  You could also add a little extra sugar to the apple mixture if you like it sweeter.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 18, 2012 in cheap 'n' easy, Homemade

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment