RSS

Magical Comfort Food, Japanese style!

21 Feb

Everyone who knows me knows how much I love Japanese food, and my favourite food of all?  Japanese curry!  I just adore the taste and the texture but I hate how much I end up paying for it here in NZ.  So I decided to try and make my own so I could have it whenever I want.  A quick internet search turned up dozens of recipes and I poured over them carefully for a few days before making my selection.  I ended up choosing a separate recipe for the tonkatsu than the one for the curry, mostly becuase I couldn’t find a combined recipe that appealed to me.  The original tonkatsu recipe is from Norecipies.com, while my curry recipe was from Noobcook.com.  Put the two together and you have yummy, scrummy tonkatsu with curry.

Ingredients

Tonkatsu

  • 4 good quality pork steaks
  • plain flour
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 cup panko (or I am told you can substitute some old crusty french breadcrumbs)
  • oil

Curry

  • 100g Japanese curry cubes (I used 4 cubes/half a packet of S&B medium spicy curry)
  • 2 carrots, peeled and cut into medium sized chunks
  • 2 potatoes, peeled and cut into medium sized chunks
  • 1 large onion, roughly chopped
  • 200-300g meat, cut into large chunks (I used blade steak, but chicken works well too)
  • 1 tb oil

Directions

  1. Remove any extra fat or silverskin from the pork and curry meat.
  2. Score the pork in a diamond pattern before tenderising.
  3. Heat a wok or pan with the oil and fry the onions until soft.
  4. Put the onions onto a plate, they’ll come back into play later
  5. Place the meat onto the bottom of the pan in one layer carefully.  This step is much like preparing meat for a casserole, you don’t want to stir it up but rather seal in the juices carefully.
  6. Once the meat is browned on the bottom turn with a pair of tongs to seal the other side.
  7. Once the meat is browned on all sides add the carrots, potatoes and cooked onion to the pan and mix thoroughly.
  8. Add 700mL of water and bring the broth to the boil before simmering for 20 minutes with the lid on.
  9. While the broth is simmering salt and pepper the pork steaks
  10. Place a handful of flour on a plate and dredge the pork through making sure to keep the coating even.
  11. Coat the pork in the beaten egg and then coat in the panko
  12. Add enough oil to cover half of the pork to a frying pan and heat over a medium heat
  13. Once the oil is hot gently lower the pork carefully
  14. Once the pork is golden brown on the bottom turn carefully and cook until a similar colour
  15. Remove the pork and put aside on kitchen paper for 5 minutes
  16. By now your curry broth should be ready, once the potatoes are soft add the curry cubes and stir through until dissolved.  If necessary add a little more water to get the desired consistency.
  17. Serve with rice and enjoy
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 21, 2013 in cheap 'n' easy, Homemade

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

